Jump to navigation links Jump to main content Jump to footer links

Rakesh Dahiya, Katie Robbins, and Andy Smith Join CFT’s Board of Trustees

  • trustees
Rakesh Dahiya, Katie Robbins, and Andy Smith Join CFT’s Board of Trustees

Richie Butler remains board chair, Connie O'Neill vice-chair, and a thank you to outgoing trustees

Communities Foundation of Texas (CFT) has welcomed three new members to its Board of Trustees, Rakesh Dahiya, Katie Robbins, and Andy Smith. These new trustees will help guide CFT in working towards its vision to build thriving communities for all.

CFT board members are selected for their diverse knowledge of community needs, record of charitable service, and fiscal responsibility. Trustees are tasked with overseeing the largest community foundation in Texas, and one of the largest in the nation. Since its founding in 1953, CFT has awarded $2.5 billion in grants. Trustees help plan and manage CFT’s assets across the more than 1,300 charitable funds that create substantial impact across our community.

“We’re grateful to welcome Rakesh, Katie, and Andy to our board. Their commitment to our community and unique expertise is an excellent addition to our governance as we work to grow community giving, expand community impact, and advance community equity,” said Wayne White, CFT’s president and CEO.


NEW TRUSTEE: Rakesh Dahiya, Chief Investment Officer, Southern Methodist University

Rakesh Dahiya has over 25 years of experience overseeing institutional investment portfolios. As the chief investment officer at Southern Methodist University (SMU), he works closely with the investment committee of the SMU Board of Trustees and is responsible for managing a $2 billion endowment, mineral interests, and planned giving assets. Rakesh has served on CFT’s investment committee as a community member since 2019, and will continue to serve on this committee as a board trustee in addition to joining CFT’s finance and audit committee.

Beyond his professional responsibilities, Rakesh actively contributes to various organizations. He serves as the chairman of the investment committee for the Tuition Plan Consortium and holds a board position at the Dallas Holocaust and Human Rights Museum Foundation. Additionally, he is a member of the Dallas Police and Fire pension investment advisory committee.

NEW TRUSTEE: Katie Robbins, President and CEO, Hoblitzelle Foundation

Katie Robbins is president and CEO of Hoblitzelle Foundation, a foundation established in 1942 by Karl and Esther Hoblitzelle. The foundation supports specific capital projects which help nonprofit organizations acquire the tools, facilities, and footing needed to pursue their varied missions. Prior to joining Hoblitzelle Foundation, Katie spent over 20 years in nonprofit finance and accounting. In addition to serving as a CFT trustee, Katie will serve on CFT’s philanthropy and investment committees.

Katie has been involved in community activities for many years. She is a past board member of the Junior League of Dallas and continues to serve the JLD as an endowment trustee and on the finance advisory committee. Katie serves on numerous advisory councils and committees, as well as on the board of trustees of the AT&T Performing Arts Center, The Florence Foundation, Philanthropy Southwest, Southwestern Medical Foundation, and The Arts Community Alliance (TACA).

NEW TRUSTEE: Andy Smith, Director, Giving and Volunteering, Texas Instruments; Executive Director, TI Foundation

Andy Smith is the director of giving and volunteering for Texas Instruments and is the executive director of the TI Foundation. He joined TI in 1997, where his roles have included media relations and leading the worldwide marketing communications team for TI’s analog businesses. In addition to serving as a CFT trustee, Andy will serve on CFT’s Educate Texas committee and finance and audit committee.

In addition to his service to CFT, Andy is active in the community, serving on several boards including the All Angels Foundation, Dallas Assembly, Dallas Education Foundation, Dallas Theater Center, TACA (The Arts Community Alliance), the SMU Dedman College executive board, and the SMU Corporate Communication and Public Affairs advisory board. Additionally, he is a 2010 Leadership Dallas alumnus.



Richie Butler will continue to serve as the foundation’s board chair. Richie is the Senior Pastor at St. Luke “Community” United Methodist Church, senior managing director of the Prescott Realty Group and the founder and chief visionary officer of Project Unity.

Connie O’Neill will continue to serve as the foundation’s vice chair. She has extensive board experience through her chairmanships of the boards of Children’s Medical Center Foundation, The Susan G. Komen Foundation, and the Highland Park Education Foundation. She is also a member of the board of trustees of Southern Methodist University and serves on the Senior Source and Momentous Institute boards of directors.



CFT extends deep appreciation to outgoing trustees Chris Kleinert, Nicole Small, and Stacy Smith who have completed their dedicated terms of board service.

Chris Kleinert (trustee 2014-2023) brought a wealth of investment and financial expertise to the board. Chris is the CEO & President of Hunt Investment Holdings. Hunt Consolidated is the flagship entity of the entire Ray L. Hunt family of companies, a privately owned group of entities based in Dallas, Texas.

Nicole Small (trustee 2014-2023) brought a unique background in nonprofit and foundation leadership and business experience to CFT. She serves as the CEO of LH Capital, Inc. and Lyda Hill Philanthropies, where she oversees all aspects of investments and philanthropic endeavors.

Stacy Smith (trustee 2017-2023) brought a wealth of business and financial experience to CFT’s board. Stacy co-founded Trinity Investment Group in 2013, a firm which invests in private equity transactions and hard assets. Since then, he also has served as managing partner of SCW Capital, LP, a small-cap equity hedge fund.

View our full Board of Trustees listing here.
View our 2023 annual report here.

Wayne White
Wayne White
President & CEO

See related stories

Search for: